Social Studies Department

Mr. Doug Bakka
Mr. Doug BakkaDepartment Chair
Social Studies
dbakka@mpslakers.com
814.824.2210

About the Social Studies Department

The Social Studies department provides an interdisciplinary approach to the social sciences, emphasizing global education. The major goal of the department is to help our students develop the values, the knowledge, and the skills that they need to become productive, proactive, and concerned citizens of the 21st century. Four years of social studies core curriculum courses are required for graduation. (Seniors who qualify may fulfill the fourth year requirement by taking a social studies course at the college.) Students also are encouraged to take additional electives to broaden their knowledge in the field of social studies.

About Mr. Bakka

B.S. in Business Administration from John Carroll University
Secondary Social Studies Certification from Mercyhurst University
Boys Varsity Soccer Coach
Over 20 years at Mercyhurst Preparatory School
Circle of Mercy Inductee

Teaching Staff

Dr. Jamie Borowicz
Dr. Jamie BorowiczSocial Studies
jborowicz@mpslakers.com
814.824.2210
Mrs. Nicole Brugger
Mrs. Nicole BruggerSocial Studies
nbrugger@mpslakers.com
814.824.2210
Mr. Seth Hartmann
Mr. Seth HartmannSocial Studies
shartmann@mpslakers.com
814.824.2210
Mrs. Deborah Kooser
Mrs. Deborah KooserSocial Studies
dkooser@mpslakers.com
814.824.2062
Mr. Ryan Maloney
Mr. Ryan MaloneySocial Studies
rmaloney@mpslakers.com
814.824.2210
Mr. Arthur Martone
Mr. Arthur MartoneSocial Studies
amartone@mpslakers.com
814.824.2063